Alone – A Poem influenced by Romantic Poetry and William Wordsworth

A great isolation enveloped me within its powerful tendrils;

I tried to ease myself from its grasp, I tried to be careful;

And yet, once I found the grip loosen, once more would it hold on;

And so I found myself within a loop from dusk till dawn.

My head bent, I did not see the sun peaking out from behind;

Tall monuments of bark proudly standing, branches intertwined;

A lone lotus opening to the world and drifting in the air, one leaf;

My loneliness immediately shattered when I at last looked upon these.

The trees, their arms outstretched eternally, accepting all into their embrace;

The river hurrying down to meet new friends at its base;

The lotus blooming into the world from muddy waters below;

And the leaf floating upon the wind searching for someone new to know.

Who could be solitary still in the presence of such a welcome?

Who could be solitary still when nature itself to them beckons?

Who could be solitary still when in such joyous company?

Who could be solitary still in the presence of this symphony?

From time to time I look back and remember that very day,

The gentle greeting from the world, the clearing of the gray;

Whenever I lay, bored or dismayed, my heart returns to that time;

And my soul joins the trees and the plants and then begins to shine.

By Saanya Verma

4 thoughts on “Alone

Leave a Reply

